An Israeli Brit in London – Anecdote No 1

London is where I was born and grew up. When I return, I expect to be greeted with constant rain, buses that are always late, and obesity

Nothing could be further from the truth. I have discarded my coat (temporarily). The buses are preferable to the lack of airconditioning on the underground. And there was a constant stream of joggers and cyclists on the Thames footpath.

Thursday lunchtime, and I was in the centre of royal Kensington. I am jabbering away in Hebrew with an Israeli diplomat, when suddenly our conversation is interrupted by a passerby.

It was an elderly man. At first, I thought he was speaking in Hebrew. But no, it was English. He repeated his question:

“Could we direct him to the Iranian embassy?” (which was down the road).

As my friend said afterwards, the surprise took away our laughter. You never know!

Explore posts in the same categories: Israel

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

